Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Noob here looking for monster vuln advice

Default Noob here looking for monster vuln advice

Hi all, I'm new to adom and it's been quite a while since I've played rogue-like games, so I'm rusty on basic principles developed playing those games. I've been testing the adom waters with gnome priests, grey elf wizards, and dwarf paladins. I generally find some way to get myself killed before I've reached level 10, but I had one character go to lv 11 but met up with a lesser daemon I couldn't do any damage to at all.

I honestly don't know what I'm doing in this game. I go to the outlaw town, kill the first hostile, walk thru the shop to id stuff, head to SMC or ID lv 1 to get to lv 3/4 (or unluckily higher lvl), do the sherrif's quest for gold (if still possible) to spend on keys from Shriek, save the carpenter, and then try to get thru UD and that's bout it for my experience thus far in this game.

In any event, I have the ADOM wiki and Improved ADOM guidebook as resources at my disposal but neither offered monster vulnerabilities from what I could see. I tried a general google search that wasn't very successful, so that brings me to these forums.

If I had the hindsight I have now, I probably would not have tried to mess with the lesser daemon, but I didn't have trouble with least daemons so thought I'd be ok. But I ended up getting toasted by the daemon and then meeting a green hag around the corner. I didn't even get a chance to see what she was about before I found myself with negative HPs. So is there some special list somewhere with monster vulnerabilities?

Thanks much for any input!
    -Spiny

I don't know if there's a complete source available for all such information. As a general rule of thumb, I use:

-Acid works on everything except for a few rare exceptions (monsters that spit acid, plus ants)
    -Lightning works on just about everything except for a few rare exceptions.