Page 5 of 6 FirstFirst 123456 LastLast
Results 41 to 50 of 53

Thread: adom wizard roller

  1. #41
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Poland
    Posts
    10

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by CheatMan View Post
    I disagree.
    If you do not mention that you want a specific special birth message, it's still nice to know if you actually have one active.

    For example, if create a wand-born gnome wizard, then my opening strategies change if it has calf/elder 10% xp to level reduction.

    Therefore, even if i roll method one, i still need to know if a special birth message was generated or not.

    EDIT: Thanks for the credit in the source. I appreciate it ^_^.
    OK - updated to v0 4: http://www.sendspace.com/file/mzqyul. When you roll character with special birth message you will see a pop-up window with information about birth sign.

    Quote Originally Posted by Adom View Post
    Looks like my fingers weren't flexible enough. Got the same results as original time. Nothing happened until I start up the game, where it needs me to help it press m to denote male, then it does all its crap until it gets to wilderness, and then it cleans its ears and tries to save. Oh well, maybe I'm doing something wrong. Thank you for all of your help though, you have been awesome. One thing I have noticed is that it always says that adomroll is paused.
    I will download Vista VHD from Microsoft (Internet Explorer Application Compatibility VPC Image - great way for testing stuff on legal Microsoft OS) and will try to get this working.

  2. #42
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Kentucky
    Posts
    5,067

    Default

    I just looked a bit more closely at the AutoIt proggy. It
    seems to be much better than the notetab script I was
    using. It even allows for memory scanning, which could
    speed things up considerably...
    "Whip me!" pleads the adom player. The rng replies... "No."

  3. #43
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Poland
    Posts
    10

    Default

    @Adom
    I've checked and got it working under Vista Business Virtual system without any issues - shortcuts are the same. If you are running AdomRoll.exe and it waits for you to open ADOM then most probably something is wrong with your AdomRoll.ini file.

    1. In AdomPath remember to include last slash
    2. To check ProcessName launch ADOM and press ctrl+shift+esc - Winndows Task Manager should appear, go To process tab and confirm process name for ADOM (dos version should be ntvdm.exe, sage - adom-sage.exe)
    3. WinTitle - ADOM for sage or full path to executable for DOS (i.e. d:\Games\ADOM\ADOM.EXE)


    @gut
    I find scripting languages (especially those designed for windows automation) very easy to learn. Their syntax is easy to follow and they tend to "speak to you in English".
    As for memory scanning - it may be an option (I considered WinAPI calls to communicate with console) but it will make whole code a lot more complicated.


    I was wondering what do you think about Character Generator - idea that started when gut mentioned memory scanning.

    You would have a certain amount of points you could assign to each stat (i.e. all stats are default 10 and you have 30 point to distribute), or once char is generated you could then rearrange stats to your liking (i.e. you can add 5 points to LE if you take 5 points from ST) - in theory it is possible but isn't it to close to cheating?

  4. #44
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Kentucky
    Posts
    5,067

    Default

    A compromise might be an auto question-system answerer.
    That could distribute points toward a particular stat, while not
    actually writing anything into ADOM's memory, just reading
    from mem, then sending keystrokes. Would be a bit of work
    though, writing code to answer each question.
    "Whip me!" pleads the adom player. The rng replies... "No."

  5. #45
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Poland
    Posts
    10

    Default

    Another version of AdomRoll - added functionality to answer opening question system. I rolled about 300 characters without any issue with questions so it should work OK.

    In INI file I added two settings:
    1. Questions - shouldn't be edited. It contains all questions (from Adom Guidebook)
    2. Answers - should contain answer to every question

    I also included txt file with all questions, answers and information about attributes (extracted from Adom Guidebook).

    AdomRoll v0 5: http://www.sendspace.com/file/2czh1x

  6. #46
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Kentucky
    Posts
    5,067

    Default

    The only way I can get non-winbeta adom to run in win7
    is by using dosbox. So far I haven't gotten the autoroller
    to work with it. I think it is super cool that you actually
    implimented the question answerer though. I'll try more
    later.


    EDIT: Woot! I got it working by installing sage. Prolly
    should have done that ages ago. It works flawlessly so
    far
    Last edited by gut; 06-20-2010 at 05:36 PM.
    "Whip me!" pleads the adom player. The rng replies... "No."

  7. #47
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Poland
    Posts
    10

    Default

    AdomRoll will not work under DOSBox simply because it is impossible to get screen content under DOSBox. Using DOSBox is almost equal to using Winbeta - both are using SDL as output.

  8. #48
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    19

    Default

    Could save some time by combining this with the star sign chooser program, would it be possible?

  9. #49
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    240

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Siuol View Post
    Could save some time by combining this with the star sign chooser program, would it be possible?
    Yes and no.... The starsign selector actually modifies the ADOM executable to force it to give you the starsign you want.

    Yes it would work, but i'm partial to not modifying the adom executable so i go without using it.

    So it's a question of personal preference on whether you want to use it or not.

  10. #50
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Drakalor Chain
    Posts
    102

    Default

    Just tried adom roll again, and I still get the same effect. My characters are all gnomish assassins, too.

    My code is


    [Settings]
    ; Path to the ADOM
    AdomPath=C:\Documents and Settings\Jakes\Desktop\adom_dat

    ; Name of the file to be executed
    AdomExe=adom.exe

    ; Name of the ADOM process (needed for closing ADOM)
    ProcessName=adom.exe

    ; Title of the ADOM window
    WinTitle=ADOM 1.1.1 (C) 1994-2002 by Thomas Biskup - Windows Beta 4

    ; Method of character generating
    ; Method = 1 - generate 1 character with specific stats
    ; Method = 2 - generate several characters and keep top ones
    Method=1

    ; How many characters generate
    HowMany=10

    ; How many top characters to keep
    TopChars=5

    [Character]
    ; Sex of the character
    ; m = male , f = female
    Sex=m
    ; Race of the character
    ; a = human, b = troll, c = high elf, d = gray elf, e = dark elf
    ; f = dwarf, g = gnome, h = hurthling, i = orc, j = drakeling
    Race=h

    ; Class of the character
    ; a = fighter, b = paladin, c = ranger, d = thief, e = assassin
    ; f = wizard, g = priest, h = bard, i = monk, j = healer, k = weaponsmith
    ; l = archer, m = merchant, n = farmer, o = mindcrafter, p = barbarian
    ; q = druid, r = necromancer, s = elementalist, t = beastfighter
    Class=h

    ; Prefered starsigns (must be separated by "|") if empty all starsigns will be OK
    ; Raven, Book, Wand, Unicorn, Salamander, Dragon, Sword, Falcon, Cup, Candle, Wolf, Tree
    Sign=Candle

    ; Prefered birth messages (must be separated by "|") if empty all birth messages will be OK
    ; local undead, long-lost brother, two-headed calf, falling star
    BirthMessage=long-lost brother

    ; Prefered number of talents. 0 means any number of talents
    TalentsNum=0

    ; Prefered talents (must be separated by "|") if empty first talents from first page will be chosen
    Talents=Alert|Boon to Family|Charming|Heir

    ; Skills needed for character (must be separated by "|") empty = no check
    Skills=Healing|Find Weakness|Dodge|Alchemy|Pick Pockets|Alertness|Stealth|Athletics|

    ; Items needed for Character (must be separated by "|") empty = no check
    ;eg. Items=spellbook of Teleportation
    ;eg. Items=Teleportation ;(will match spellbook, wand and scroll)
    Items=

    ; Minimum stats required
    ; St|Le|Wi|Dx|To|Ch|Ap|Ma|Pe
    Stats=1|1|1|1|1|1|1|1|1

    ; Weights of each stat
    ; score = St*St_weight + Le*Le_weight + .......
    Weights=1|1|1|1|1|1|1|1|1


    Maybe there is a problem with it?
    Hard core soft porn.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •