Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: First Time Wizard... Limited Castings?!

Default First Time Wizard... Limited Castings?!

I've been sticking with Melee characters pretty much since I started playing ADOM. I decided to finally try out a magic character, the wizard, and was getting the hang of it until I ran out of casts of my damage spell. That character died very soon after.

So of course this mentioned in the manual, but I'd never noticed it, or known about it, or really understood the fact that # of castings of a spell is limited.

- How does a caster work around finite castings of their damage spells?
    - Is even the wizard expected to seriously melee stuff to save on castings?
    - Is there a way to get castings back? Rereading the books?
    - Books are pretty heavy on a gray elf wizard, do I have to just be careful about which books are important enough to lug around with me?
    - Is it wiser to read a book until it disappears? Does that give me max castings and then I don't need to keep the book?
    - at the moment, I really don't get the wizard playstyle.

Thanks!

- Is even the wizard expected to seriously melee stuff to save on castings?
    - Is there a way to get castings back? Rereading the books?
    - Books are pretty heavy on a gray elf wizard, do I have to just be careful about which books are important enough to lug around with me?
    - Is it wiser to read a book until it disappears? Does that give me max castings and then I don't need to keep the book?
    Answer to those all is pretty much 'Yes'. and mostly you answered yourself

Quote Originally Posted by mrrstark View Post
    Perhaps not. I find that I get more casts at higher level / literacy / concentration / le So it might be worth reading a few times, and stashing.
    Also if you have fewer casts left, you gain more. So once it's in the 200 range, consider stashing.