Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Will Mindcraft be expanded?

Question Will Mindcraft be expanded?

Hi all, this is my first post here so I thought I'd touch on the subject of my favourite class; the Mindcrafter.

*Disclaimer: I have not yet completed ADoM, but I have been playing NetHack since I was 6 (almost 20 years ago now) and ADoM on-and-off since late teens. So I know the game well enough, just not how to win it.

I've played most of the classes in this game, as all have something about them that intrigues me, however the Mindcrafter is by far the most interesting. A character with psionic power is always something I'm keen to roll with, regardless of how powerful they are in relation to others, as I tend to go for those "weird" classes in games. For example, if I want to shoot things I'd pick a Ranger instead of an Archer, and I never play a Wizard/Mage when there are more unusual casters available. And that's why I love this game, the diversity of classes and their playstyles compared to most RPGs.

Unfortunately though, when I first came across ADoM and tried my hand at a Mindcrafter, the gameplay didn't live up to the manual description. I was forced to whack stuff for 6 levels, then when I finally got a damaging spell I chose to try it out on a claw bug that had cornered me... no dice. I understand you can't be a psionic demi-god from the word go, but after reading more about the Mindcrafter's playstyle I was less interested to continue. The combat doesn't really focus on my amazing mind-powers, but more on melee/missiles with a bit of confusion thrown in.