Page 1 of 8 12345 ... LastLast

Thread: Newbie questions: corruption, cursed items...

Default Newbie questions: corruption, cursed items...

Hello guys I'm new to ADOM, playing for 3 days now. It's great fun but it's also very difficult :/ I'm very sure I'm doing pretty everything wrong ^^ anyway, my current problems are:

I'm on the 5th level of the dungeon in the bottom right (the one thats always changing), i was fighting a chaos brother and became corrupted im only lvl11, human barbarian, finished just 2 quests (dog, carpenter) is there a way to cure corruption this early in the game? or is my character doomed?

problem nr2 are cursed items and altars:

ive read that i can uncurse items with blessed water, i bless the water if im in a good relationship with my god and put it on the altar. now the problem is to find water and altars, are there places where i can always find water or always find altars?? this leads me to the next point: all altars look the same and the description is the same aswell so are they? i sacrificed some monsters and apparenrtly they were of the same alignment as my god. how the hell am i supposed to know that? and furthermore how am i supposed to distinguish the altars of my god.

final question:
    ive got the quest to kill this badass criminal in the outlaws town but i'm waaaaaay too weak. so is grinding unavoidable to successfully complete the game? or did i miss some quests?

Welcome to Ancardia, friend! Great fun, yet challenging is a good way to describe this game.

I'm very sure you're not doing everything wrong - starting the game in the ID is in itself a smart move for a novice player. Congratulations for completing two quests after only three days of playing - I can assure you it took me much longer than that. I'll try to answer your questions in order.

Corruption is an issue in most games of ADOM, but as you probably know there are ways to deal with it.