Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: ASCII VS Graphical

Default ASCII VS Graphical

Which do you use?

I use ASCII, as it is what I am use to; plus I can see a much larger portion of the map. I know there is a mini map, but it is hard to see.
    AKA: Jbc
    1st win no spoiler & no cheating version 1.1.1
    Favorite Race Class Combo: Darkling Farmer

I use ASCII. I like being able to see more of the field, and I can immediately recognize everything.

I hear it's better now, but the early versions of the tiled mode were also very sluggish on my machine.
    Hoping to win with every class, doomed. Archer, Barbarian, Bard, Beastfighter, Druid, Elementalist, Farmer, Fighter, Monk, and ULE Priest down.

Same here. I think it may be a nostalgia thing, I've been playing since 1998 after all, it's hard to change! It actually took me a while to get used to the new versions as I was so stuck in my ways

Quote Originally Posted by Jeremiah View Post
    Which do you use?

I use ASCII, as it is what I am use to; plus I can see a much larger portion of the map. I know there is a mini map, but it is hard to see.
    AScii with tiles in mini map (~1/4 of lower screen). Converting to full tiles would mean i need relearn quite a lot (yellow caapital F - I know what it means and WTF to do --- sprite - I would do something silly). I DON "T play that much Adom to invest the eefort into comveting myself to the tiles user.
    So far rolled 15 casters with RoDS and shamelessly killed them within 200 turns. For eternium glory!
    (after 15 I stopped counting...)

First versions I played was probably really early, most likely downloaded from tucows or similar but I didn't grind it that much because of the difficulty.
    The graphics changed the game for me, I guess my sense of imagination is very much the same as the imagination of those who made the graphics.
    I look at mini map to locate stairs on scouted maps and I use F10 to screen shot greater vaults in both ascii and graphics.