Page 1 of 5 12345 LastLast

Thread: "Saving" your game

Default "Saving" your game

We all do this. If you haven't, you are a better man that I am Gunga Din.

I was curious as to how much people do this. When I started playing the game, I "saved" the game every few steps and would restart if I didn't get an outcome that I liked (I.E. Getting cold immunity from crowning). Eventually I progressed through the game and didn't need to "save" nearly so often. With intermittent "saving," I achieved the Neutral Ultra Ending. It was wonderful and glorious and I partied for weeks on end, but soon I figured out that I felt my victory cheapened by the "saving". It became my goal to win the game without the dreaded "save". Working my way through, I would get frustrated at the slowdown between levels 25 and 50 generally rush headlong into an early death. Finally with a Bard of some sort for a challenge, I made it without "saving".

I now only "save" once I have completed major parts of the game in the case that my computer craps out or ADOM encounters a bug. (Multiple 30's level characters lost this way!)

How much do you do this? If you are brave enough to share.

P.S. If you don't know what "saving" is, it is copying your .svg file to another folder so that if you die in an untimely fashion, you can put your character back in the savedg folder. (Or other saving shenanigans that are not part of the ADOM game itself.)

The only time I've "saved" was to move a game from one computer to another computer. I've never save-scummed (the popular term for what you are describing), but I've also never won a game. I'm ok with that. It's supposed to be hard.
    Bowen, Knight of the Old Code

I did the same that Bowen.

I copied my save file to my fathers computer to play a little.
    I never won a Adom game...