Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: How long did it take you to win ADOM?

Default How long did it take you to win ADOM?

I'm a newbie to this game, and have had many frustrating deaths so far. I was wondering if I'm just really bad at this game, or if it does take an eternity to win it? Could everyone tell me how many characters they went through before winning, how game turns it took, and how long (in real-time) it took to complete the game?

Ugh... This is certainly a tough game to get into, but it's very rewarding once you do. I'd estimate I burned through about 50 characters before really getting started (into the CoC a few levels) and then another fifty until the ToEF. But the first to clear the tower made it all the way. Elven priest. They're pretty awesome.

The guidebook helps a lot if you don't mind spoilers. Or just read the "Whole-game issues" section.

I probably had about 1500 dead PCs until I won. So yes, it can take a while. I've lost a lot of those PCs trying to get through the game unspoiled. I did have roguelike experience - the first roguelike I ever played was Castle of the Winds, and I finished the first part of that before I even heard of ADOM, but that one is a) a lot easier b) allowed saving. At that point I had never even heard of the term roguelike - I hadn't even had English in school.
    ADOM Guides - whatever you wanted to know about playing a certain class, but have been afraid to ask!

Check out my youtube channel to see my ADOM videos, including a completed playthrough of the game. I try to give instructions, so if you want to see some place you haven't been before and get some hints on how to deal with it, this might help! There's also some other games featured there that you might find interesting.

Quote Originally Posted by ivoryknight View Post
    how long (in real-time) it took to complete the game?
    With one particular character or "How long you had played ADOM before winning" ?