Page 1 of 23 1234511 ... LastLast

Thread: Completely new to ADOM

Default Completely new to ADOM

Sorry if this gets asked all the time but I'm really new to this game, and rogue-like games in general. I'm having alot of fun so far but in the 30 odd characters I've made I've never got past level 8. It seems that sometimes I just get an unlucky turn of events and there is nothing I can do to keep myself from dying. I'm sure this isn't really the case so I came to the forums wondering if there was a good guide to how to get started in the game, and etc.

I'm slowly working my way through the manual, and I always refer to the keyboard bindings to see if there is something I"m missing. But in the end I'm still pretty lost. Is there a good reference guide I could use? Thanks.

There's a few 'Let's Play' style guides and Andy's Guidebook, which has a bunch of general purpose spoily info but isn't really set up as a walktrhough for newbies. I don't really know of any introductory tutorial out there myself. A few general tips:

Never worry about answering questions for your stats, since it takes time and your characters will die so often at first anyway. I'd suggest trying out some troll characters (Barbarians, Beastfighters, etc.) - they are very strong early game; they do have to worry about getting more food, but otherwise are generally very tough and survive the early game well. Also look at Archers and Wizards (probably not paired with Troll), which are strong classes good throughout the game.

Some talents can help your early game survivability significantly as well. The speed talents or Long Stride can give you that little extra oumph to run away from a threat before it kills you. Also, avoid running around burdened or strained if possible, since that lowers your speed. One more way to get a speed boost to escape early on is to switch to Coward tactics when your HP is at 1/3 your max or less.