PDA

View Full Version : In-game Notes

fifthflavorquark
04-02-2009, 02:53 PM
One of the things that I've often thought would be handy is an in-game notes utility. Sure, I can use Notepad or Textedit (or whatever) to record where shops, pools, altars, etc. are between game sessions, but it would be nice if I could just type Alt N and notes for that specific character would pop up.

Of course, I'm not a programmer, so I don't know if this would be a lot of extra effort or would dramatically reduce the art of JADE and/or ADOM.

Epythic
04-02-2009, 03:25 PM
One of the things that I've often thought would be handy is an in-game notes utility. Sure, I can use Notepad or Textedit (or whatever) to record where shops, pools, altars, etc. are between game sessions, but it would be nice if I could just type Alt N and notes for that specific character would pop up.

Of course, I'm not a programmer, so I don't know if this would be a lot of extra effort or would dramatically reduce the art of JADE and/or ADOM.

Even if there was a feature like that; I would not use it. Here are three reasons:

1. I have a favorite text editor, Vim. It's a lot more comfortable than anything else.
2. I want to be able to read/write the notes when I'm not playing (e.g. when posting here).
3. I want to be able to search (and possibly reformat the results) through my notes (possibly the notes from different chars) effectively. Means, I want to be able to use unix tools to do the job (grep...).
4. What if your character dies, but you want to write a postmortem?
5. I backup my char often, and I want to keep *all* backups, in case I want to jump back later to test something. Here, being able to grep through the notes from outside of the game is very handy to determine which savegame I want to load.

Anyway, you might just make a shortcut to open your favorite text editor with a specific textfile pre-loaded.

fifthflavorquark
04-02-2009, 04:58 PM
Ah yes, all good points.

sgeos
04-02-2009, 07:08 PM