PDA

View Full Version : TB on the ADOM source

Grey
04-15-2011, 09:20 AM
For those who haven't noticed, Thomas Biskup has released a new blog post (http://www.adom.de/blog/2011/04/14/the-genie-and-the-bottle/) about the ADOM source code. This is perhaps his strongest statement yet confirming that he will never ever ever release the source, for a variety of reasons.

Perhaps some will be disappointed with this, or disagree with it, but it's something I've accepted for a long time anyway. It's something I've given up caring about too - I've been playing the current version of ADOM for many years without many bug issues. Indeed, in spite of its bugs it's still very stable compared to many many other games. With community games and self-enforced challenges it provides a lot of fun, and I certainly get my money's worth out of it. Releasing the source might be nice, but ultimately it wouldn't improve the game much, so I'm just not that bothered.

It is a shame he doesn't take a little better care of the forums - especially when seeing him putting the time and effort in to reply to idiots moaning about the source when they don't even play the game. I think perhaps he needs reminding that he does still have a community here, quietly enjoying the fruits of his work. From what I gather he's wholly unaware of the existence of the ssh server, or the many challenge games we play, or even the amazing ADOM art thread. Its been 9 years since the last update of the ADOM code and yet there's still a community carrying on enjoying it to the full - quite an achievement really.

vogonpoet
04-15-2011, 01:29 PM
So wait, we just need to get a billionaire hooked on ADOM, get him or her to donate 5 million or so euros to Thomas, and get some ADOM and JADE development? What we waiting for?

/not a billionaire
//or a millionaire
///shit, I don't even have thousands

Silfir
04-15-2011, 08:52 PM