PDA

View Full Version : New to ADOM, which one do I play? (ADOMv1.1.0 or JADEv0.2.3_ADOM II)

Anarki_Hunter
04-24-2012, 05:54 AM
Hi,

I am new to ADOM and I see there are two games to download and play, ADOMv1.1.0 and JADEv0.2.3_ADOM II. Which one do I play?.

Does ADOM II have all the implementations of ADOMv1.1.0 (ignoring the user manual), because there are
.Currently less classes available after selecting a race
.No Questionnaire for skillset

ADOM II has nice UI set and very very appealing, so please advise.

Thanks,

JellySlayer
04-24-2012, 06:16 AM
ADOM 1.1.1 (http://www.adom.de/adom/download.php3) is the most recent version of the original ADOM. It is a complete game, and is quite fun to play.

ADOM II v0.2.3 is still in the fairly early stages of development. Many features have not yet been implemented, and there are still some fairly major bugs and balance issues that are being worked out. It is playable, but it is definitely much less refined at this point.

Unless you have particular interests in helping with the development process for ADOM II, I would suggest ADOM 1.1.1 is probably what you're looking for at this exact point in time. Keep an eye on ADOM II though... the development process is moving at a pretty decent clip.

Anarki_Hunter
04-24-2012, 08:58 AM
Thanks, I am going to try ADOM I.

Dervi
04-28-2012, 11:43 AM
In fact, if you want the most fun of ADOM, I'll encourage to download ADOM 1.0.0 instead of 1.1.1 (get it at http://www.adom.de/adom/archive.php3). ADOM 1.1.1 has some features (and bugs) that a newcomer would find hard to cope with. ADOM 1.0.0 has been largely playtested and is probably the most balanced version of them all.

Silfir
04-28-2012, 12:13 PM
I can't find myself agreeing with that. I remember playing ADOM 1.0.0 faintly, and I don't remember it being any different, certainly not easier. It doesn't have talents or the Bug Temple, but that doesn't affect difficulty any. What are the aspects that make it more "balanced"?

gut