PDA

View Full Version : Thoughts on server global highscore

Stingray1
10-16-2013, 09:00 AM
If I understand correctly, there will be a global highscore list on the server.

My concern is that this list will be mostly filled with cheaters:

Statrollers, starsignrollers, savescum, etc.

First of all, will there thus be any point to such a highscore list and secondly is it possible to ommit cheaters from the list?

Edit - Sorry, can you please move this to the ADOM subforum.(e2)

I actually have a solution, if the server rolls the characters and stores the savefiles, I think it can be controlled, maybe. I'm no programmer. Detecting cheating and ommitting scores from these users.

Universal
10-16-2013, 11:43 AM
Most likely it will be online server, so players will be playing online, and therefore they will have no control over their saves (they will not be able to make backups, like on old ancardia server).

Rolling for stats/sign probably will be unavoidable, but I would not consider this a serious problem - it doesn't give that big in game advantage, and probably it's extremely boring and tedious, so someone would have to be really desperate to spend half day on creating chars just to get char with decent stats and candle starsign (and then die in SMC in very few couple of turns)

jt
10-16-2013, 11:59 AM
The way the server is planned/implemented is:

- the server only stores highscores and achievements (and online accounts for players)
- the player can play ADOM offline on their own PC
- if a player has an online account and ADOM detects an internet connection, highscores and achievements are synchronized with the server

Playing remotely "on" the server is not planned right now (and would only be available for versions without NotEye).

We will see how much cheating will happen and we probably need to balance the highscore calculations.