PDA

View Full Version : First Win! (Dark Elf Ranger)

brim
06-24-2009, 06:47 AM
So I've been playing ADOM pretty steadily since about 2004. Stopped for about a year while I was unfortunately addicted to World of Warcraft, but it just couldn't stand up to ADOM. This was my first win without the use of save scumming, and I also didn't scum for Herbs or do any stair hopping. Got lucky in the druid dungeon with a lawful altar and sac'd small amounts of gold until I was lawful (didn't wanna be crowned chaotic because of the increased corruption, and also wanted Courage), then mobs until i was fairly decently pious. Went from there up through UD to HMV, and from there to the CoC. Again, super lucky, found 3 lawful altars between D:1 and D:10.

Only real hiccup in the early game was my kill quest for Dwarf Elder was a dark elven lord, and i cleared pyramid, High King's cave, griffyard, gremlin cave, and darkforge before finally finding one. I played rangers before and of course loved the skills, but i found in the mid-game dual weilding wasn't offering enough survivabilty, so this whole game I went Sheild + Polearm for the DV. Was lucky in that my crowing gift was Bugbiter, which I used the entire rest of the game with great effect. Got TC and Teleportitis from corpses prior to Animated Forest, so that was a breeze (i actually am more afraid of the forest than i am the Dwarven halls). Thanks to slaying ammo, ToEF was cake. Unfortunately couldn't find any AoLS, so Kelv died. Got 7LB and eternium tower sheild not far beneath Kelvalaster, and pretty much destroyed everything until mana temple.