PDA

View Full Version : Any advice for a newbie?

Gavindale Marchovia
03-06-2016, 04:58 PM
I'm new to ADOM, and I was just wondering if anyone has advice for this game...? I was told in my other thread that the game is hard, and dying will something that happens often, but if there is any advice that I should keep in mind while I play, please let me know. Thanks so much!

Shinae
03-06-2016, 05:19 PM
Well I guess I can try give some very low spoiler general tips that helped me early game.

- Some classes are much harder than others. You can check wiki page for classes to know more about them and see the helpful table which shows which classes are newbie friendly. http://ancardia.wikia.com/wiki/Classes
- Many new players have trouble early game with traps. Picking Dwarf as your race can help with this. Dwarves start with generally ok equips, they have more toughness than elves and they start with Detect Traps skill which you can use to detect and avoid door traps.
- Use your First Aid skill. When you get hit and lose hp, even in middle of fight, you can press F7 to turn on Coward tactic and 'a'pply First Aid skill to recover some hp.
- Use Tactics. Above I mentioned Coward Tactic. But you can try other settings too. Aggressive makes you take more hits, but you also hit more likely and harder. Try them. F2 -> F7 are different tactics.
- Know your defensive: DV and PV. DV is dodge value and PV is protection value. When you see item. example: Clothes [1, 0] it means it has 1 DV and 0 PV. If equipment has (+1, +1) [1, 1] it gives bonus +1 to hit with melee and missiles and +1 DV and +1 PV. Generally you want to favor PV over DV. PV means survival.
- You can pray your deity pressing '_' It can heal you and do other nice stuff. You can't use it all the time tho, deity doesn't like beign asked for favors.
- Run away! If you see something you know you can't beat it's better to run than die.

pjsb1
03-06-2016, 05:21 PM