PDA

View Full Version : Raising Stats in Modern ADOM

pandacache
11-30-2016, 07:16 PM
Hey, all. I'm new to ADOM and have been having difficulty tracking down how exactly stats and stat potentials work in the current incarnation of ADOM. Everything published appears to be from previous versions of the game and has undergone dramatic changes since then. Having played through a good number of characters my current understanding is this:

Stat potentials are determined based on a character's starting class. This is heavily influenced by race and somewhat by class.
Stats cannot be raised past their potential through non-magical means.
Wishes and Potions of Boost Attributes can increase stat potentials.
Natural / Herb training cannot boost stats past their potentials.
Herbs cannot raise stats beyond ~25 regardless of whether or not the potential has been reached.
I am unsure if eating corpses will improve stat potentials or not. (Might depend on the corpse.)

In the past it seems abusing your stats and using herbs to boost your stats was commonplace, and everyone would end up with ~25 DEX / TO / WIL, but that is no longer the case. Herbs were originally capped at raising stats to 25 before they were made to respect stat potentials, but still seem to retain this cap even if you have yet to hit your potential. This leaves me wondering how high natural stat potentials are actually supposed to be reached.