PDA

View Full Version : General Tips?

Chaine
04-08-2008, 04:45 PM
Hey,
I've been playing ADoM for a couple-three years with no success.
The farthest I've gotten is doing the Mad Carpenter quest and getting all the way to dwarven city, with the arena beat. I usually use a dark elf or human fighter, preferrably literate but I don't know quite how to make sure they turn out literate during character creation so they usually end up the other way.
I've had quite alot of fun times in ADoM but I think its so darn frustrating when you die, all the time. Once I broke my leg kicking a wall, while looking for a hidden path (I didn't know the search command back then), what's up with that?

Anyhow, I was wondering some good early game tips: mainly in which order to do quests and how to avoid death. The main things that have been bothering me, alot, is how to identify and heal?
You can get the skill healing at the priest (Jhyrrad?), but other than that I've only found "first aid" which only works the very turn after getting hit and almost always fails. I've found no way to identificate or detect curses yet.
What are recommended skills/attributes for human knights by the way?

Mad Minstrel
04-08-2008, 05:19 PM
Don't choose class without healing skill if you don't like to die early. I think the best combination for you would be dwarven priest - healing skill, detect item status, herbalism, strong but good in magic too. It's one of the easiest combinations to play with.

Easy play order:

Do first 6 levels of the Black Druid dungeon
Do puppy cave
Finish Black Druid quest
Do serif quest to kill hotzenplotz
Look for a few spell books in Level 2-3 of ID
Go to CoC

Don't rush. You heal with time if you have high healing skill. Besides use speensweed herbs, spells of healing, healing potions. You can identify items with scrolls of identify. It's best to bless the scrolls (with holy water) before using it. You can create holy water by dropping potions of water on a co-aligned altar.