PDA

View Full Version : Help with A Weaponsmith

electric_wizard
06-13-2008, 10:47 AM
I've been playing ADOM for over 10 years and one of the only classes I've not had any luck at all with is the weaponsmith. In fact, I've never smithed anything before with any character. The constraint of carrying around a 1000 stone anvil and a git big hammer has always been more than I could be bothered with.

Can anyone recommend a good race for a smith and perhaps some suggestions for surviving more than five minutes!

Silfir
06-13-2008, 11:15 AM
I've played lots of high elven weaponsmiths because their melee skillset is quite good, but they're pretty weak. I'm not really a smithing pro, I'm afraid, so I can't give you much in the way of good advice.

One hint - make use of that anvil! Crush doors with it! That takes out those damn door traps without trouble.

electric_wizard
06-13-2008, 11:23 AM
I tried a grey elf and didn't do so well. The lack of magic OR any real combat abilities seem to make it a really tuff class to get started with. I could try a more brutish race but they always come unstuck later on.

Nice tip with the door crushing. I knew you could do that with huge rocks but never tried it with anvils.

Silfir
06-13-2008, 11:35 AM
Elven weaponsmiths have elven chain mail. Find a shield and your combat abilities should be more than okay. First goal should be the healing skill though, for better staying power.

Soirana
06-13-2008, 11:55 AM
hurthling.

Basically you get good skills, good dex, good toughness and anvil grants reasonable strength

Timpak
06-13-2008, 01:05 PM
Drakeling, good stats, acid spit, nothing more needed to say. Safekeep the anvil at ministrel until you use it if it's too heavy.

electric_wizard
06-13-2008, 01:16 PM
I've always stayed clear of drakelings. I hate the ToEF enough as it is and from what I hear it's even worse with a drakeling.