PDA

View Full Version : Death by bridges

Urthdigger
11-05-2008, 09:21 AM
Ok, it was my furthest character I'd gotten yet. Managed to become crowned as a champion of balance (Getting fire resistance in the process), discovered the HMV, and then just below dwarftown is a river. So, I quickly finished up the carpenter quest, got my manual, but was too hasty to bother training (He never seemed to up my stats, even after training a lot then waiting...) or level, so I cut down a few trees and went off to give bridge building a try. Says I don't manage to make anything.

Now, I've never used bridge building before. I have no idea how it works. So I figured maybe I have to be in the water. Little dangerous since the whole reason I'm building a bridge is because I can't swim, but I'm a troll, I got HP, and it'll beep me if my HP gets low right? Start building and BAM, -14. Oops.

ragface
11-05-2008, 11:29 AM
Best way to cross rivers is by casting frost bolt from spellbooks or wands of cold..
Never gotten the bridge building to work:p

Silfir
11-05-2008, 11:39 AM
Bridge Building requires a log and a hatchet. Then you 'a'pply the skill. Your character will try and make a segment out of the log. He nearly always fails. Did I mention that logs weigh 800 stones each and Bridge Building is the most hideous waste of time ever? Look for other methods to cross the river.

You can give Blup a blessed potion of carrot juice to be taught Swimming.

Urthdigger
11-06-2008, 02:06 AM
I was a troll, with single digit learning score. I really didn't think of spells as an option. Plus, I was more than capable of carrying a bunch of logs with me down into the mines without being burdened :)

Silfir
11-06-2008, 10:24 AM