PDA

View Full Version : Teleportitis w/o Teleport Control

PMJ
02-12-2009, 12:47 PM
Well, yes, I'm pretty noobish to this game. My best char so far is a level 14 High Elf Wizard, who is still alive, but seems to be failing a bit in the power department...

But anyway, this post isn't about her, it's about my lvl 11 dwarven paladin who was kicking total butt... until Teleportitis. You see, as a noob, I didn't realise that every so often, eating a pixie would give you teleporting disease. I was hungry, so I ate a dead pixie... "I felt jumpy"... next thing I know, I'm jumping all over the map without rhyme or reason as to when or where.

At first, it didn't really bother me, and was kind of fun. It was kind of annoying, but every so often it would come in handy, and even saved my butt from a bad surrounding in the big room.

Then I got unlucky, and went on a corpseless spree... which lead me to become hungry.

No problem, right? Dwarf town is only a floor or two away, and I saw some rations in the shop.

Well, needless to say, a few bad teleports took me way away from the stairs, and before I knew it, I'm Hungry! right as I run into a dark elven summoner... Spiders --> Poison --> Starving --> Death

Oh well... lesson well learned. Don't eat pxies until you've eaten a blink dog first!

vogonpoet
02-12-2009, 01:45 PM
There should be no need to starve to death in the CoC... the arena usually contains nutrition-selling monsters.

psy_wombats
02-12-2009, 04:39 PM
Either that or just pray for satiation.

PMJ
02-12-2009, 10:31 PM
As I said, I'm kind of noobish still, and hadn't stocked up on the lizards on sticks.

Further, I didn't actually die from the starvation, but it was a contributing factor. I hit Hungry! about the time i got surrounded by spiders/tarantualas. I thought I'd be able to battle my way to the stairs before in time... I hit starving and was poisoned, and then the spiders were able to finish me off despite my cowardly setting.