Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 14

Thread: Adom on Android?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Wyoming
    Posts
    39

    Default Adom on Android?

    Hey all. I was just wondering if any of you have found a good way to play Adom on an android device. I have gotten it working (albeit it's rather slow) on the andosbox dos emulator for android, but it's not ideal as the games is very slow when there are any npcs (monsters) around and of course the keyboard (A physical full-sized usb keyboard) is less than agreeable with the many commands you have to put in for ADOM and the bad hardware communication of dosbox. But it does work, and after you get used to it it is almost acceptable. But the slow speed does bother me.

    So my question is if anyone has found a better way to play adom on the android, or is a direct port is possible. If neither of these is true, has anyone found any rouguelike for the android similar to adom (please don't say nethack)?

    Any other good in-depth android games of a different style anyone wants to suggest is welcome. I love strategy, rpg, etc. so just post below.

    My device is a Coby Kyros 7015 running android 2.1. I hacked it and have root access. It's processor is 800MHZ, 256mb of RAM, and a ton of space on my sd card.

    Anything helps. Thanks.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    London, England
    Posts
    5,011

    Default

    I don't know of any easy ways. Can you run ssh on Android?

    In terms of alternative roguelikes, Hydra Slayer is the most interesting I've encountered.
    Platinum Edition ADOMer
    http://gamesofgrey.com - check out my roguelikes!

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Wyoming
    Posts
    39

    Default

    You can use ssh on android apparently... but I have never used ssh before and wouldn't know where to start. I think I'll try tinkering around with the dosbox settings a little more. And yeah, I've tried hydra hunter. Didn't do it for me. There is just nothing that can replace the feel of ADOM.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Kentucky
    Posts
    5,067

    Default

    i recommend ssh
    "Whip me!" pleads the adom player. The rng replies... "No."

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    London, England
    Posts
    5,011

    Default

    Yeah, ssh has to be the way to go if you can get it set up. You'll get Sage functionality too that way - lots of nice extras, including things like "repeat last command" which would be a big help with the restricted interface. Relies on a net connection, but it should run well on 3G and will use barely any data.
    Platinum Edition ADOMer
    http://gamesofgrey.com - check out my roguelikes!

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Posts
    1,077

    Default

    I have chosen the map colors in Hydra Slayer's ASCII mode to be the same as in ADOM, but other than that, yes, it is different

    SSH on Android works very well (use the application ConnectBot), so I suppose it should not be a problem to connect to the ADOM server (it seems that the info page on the server does not work, but this one does). But I have not tried it to play e.g. ADOM with it myself, as most roguelikes require too many keys to be played comfortably without a hardware keyboard (Hydra Slayer is better there, since you need only a few keys).

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Wyoming
    Posts
    39

    Default

    Well, I may look into setting up ssh soon. I am using a tablet without 3g but I just use my home wifi. I will check that out soon though.

    I am using a hardware keyboard most of the time though. I just plug it in to the usb port.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Wyoming
    Posts
    39

    Default

    So I've tried to get ssh running, but alas, the window won't rezise to 80x25. So I'll just have to stick to Adom on the pc, unless I can get dosbox working faster. Thanks for the suggestions everyone!

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Posts
    14

    Default

    I've been playing ADOM on my Droid 3 without a hitch. I connect to Jaakkos Server by using "ConnectBot" which is a free SSH client for Android phones. You CAN resize the screen to 80x25, but I have to send the resize command twice in order for it to take. I do this every single time I play. You just get used to it.

    The other advantage that I have playing on a Droid 3 is the slide-out keyboard. This then doesn't obscure the screen, and I have full access to a keyboard. The only key I have trouble with is CTRL, which does not exist on the Droid 3 keyboard. So far I've been able to play without needing CTRL yet. (given I am new to the game, and haven't got past the town dungeon yet, so I don't know if I'll need CTRL yet).

    So I'm not sure how well this would work on non-physical-keyboard Android phones, but for the Droid 1, 2 & 3 - this should work without a hitch. So now I'm playing ADOM while carpooling, on lunch break... or just anywhere out and about. I really like it alot! If it wasn't for my ability to do this, I would NOT be playing ADOM (because I can't sit down at a computer and play for long amounts of time, but I can on my phone!)

    p.s. @mdrew93 - I have ADOM also running on my XOOM Tablet without a problem doing the same thing above (Jaakkos & ConnectBot). Except I do have to use a physical keyboard connected through bluetooth to get it working properly. And then the same thing as my phone.. I have to resize the screen twice before it actually sticks.
    Last edited by FatMagic; 09-08-2011 at 05:40 PM.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    May 2015
    Posts
    1

    Default

    Yes running SSH is necessary, Here you can find SSH tunneling step by step http://www.vpnanswers.com/openvpn-ov...-step-by-step/. It is the perfect way to play Adom on your Android. I can highly recommend it for you.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •