Thread: Need help with controls

Default Need help with controls

Hello all. I am new to Adom, but have played many roguelikes before. I'm really not an idiot but I am getting very frustrated trying to find the controls for this game. I have googled and searched the forum to no avail. Basically I found two things by searching. The first thing I found is there should be an in-game manual. Well nothing I found told how to do that, I have tried the ole "?" in game which is standard for most roguelikes but the game tells me I have nothing to read.

The second thing I found was there should be a manual.doc that comes with the game? I don't know if I DL'ed it wrong, but the game downloaded with Java and automatically opened up. Even if I "saved" the file, it was just a Launcher that I double clicked and brought me to the game so I have no clue where it installed to and how to get to the manual. I have also tried clicking on the "Manual" button in-game which tells me a manual has yet to be written.

I ended up searching just Adom controls figuring it would be the same, but then I realized when I first started the game I chose Adom 2 controls instead of the original Adom, which I'm assuming now I can't use. Sorry for a stupid question I'm just a bit frustrated and can't play the game at the moment not knowing how to do basic things. Hopefully there is an in-game command to bring up controls and I will be all set. I know basic stuff like movement, picking up, waiting etc... but I have no clue how to equip armor / items and many other things in the game.

Thanks in advance!

Press Enter to view the key-bindings under the Adom II controls. For an out of game reference for bindings you can look at the wiki page (http://adom2.wikidot.com/controls). The manual isn't written as of yet, though I think it's planned for the 0.3.0 patch.

Edit - some other helpful information: