Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: ADOM beginner, have a few questions

Default ADOM beginner, have a few questions

So, I have been playing the original ADOM for a few months now, but I have only become really interested this past week. The second ADOM looks amazing, but does not have as many classes and options as I feel it needs to. I'm sure that is already part of a heated-discussion so I will simply move on to the questions.

1. I have become quite attached to the dwarves recently due to their strength and the mining skill, but I have not actually been able to find a pickaxe, so I cannot actually do the mining. When and where can I get a pickaxe for early game?

2. A few classes are really appealing to me, such as the farmer and the mindcrafter, but I also want to try something different this week. The barbarian caught my eye, but how is it different from the fighter?

3. I have never made it out of the starting valley because I cannot find the things the quests are talking about, I always starve to death before getting to the left edge, and I always get ambushed by wandering wizards near the river and can never escape. Any advice on how to ensure my character doesn't starve do death?

There is a guaranteed pickaxe hidden on the first level of the pyramid (level 13-17). I think dwarves also drop them.

Buy as much food as you can carry from Muxnip in Terinyo. Dive to the arena in the Caverns of Chaos (main dungeon) and buy cooked lizards from one of the ratling traders. Hope for a stomafillia herb patch.

The CoC is in the middle of the wilderness, only accessible by moving diagonally at it:
    Code:
    *^
    ^.
    ADOM, where the most commonly used letter in the alphabet is the explosive rune. - starfries

There is a guaranteed pickaxe when you reach xl 13 and explore a particular location.

Fighters get more PV and barbarians do more damage.

The starting quests are optional. You can achieve them if you keep exploring though.