Thread: First Ultra: Ingvar III, GE Wiz

Default First Ultra: Ingvar III, GE Wiz

I've been playing on and off for many years but I never considered doing anything but a normal gate closing ending before, mostly because the game is long enough as it is already and I'm usually quite anxious to finish and get on with my normal life as soon as the end game approaches. But then I watched GordonOverkill's Ultra ending on Youtube and decided to give it a try after all. Said and done, I set myself up for an as problem free game as possible by choosing a raven born gray elven wizard with prerequisites for 'treasure hunter' talent.

To the game. Starting books were fire bolt and cure light wounds, which is of course great. First kill was a child for later convenience, which is perhaps a bit odd for an aspiring Avatar of Order, but nobody is perfect. There's plenty of evil that needs to be done in the early game anyway, so what difference does an innocent child make? Next stop was SMC, where I found the stairs close enough but no blanket. Then to the Puppy cave where I found a nice pair of bracers of To (+6) and TC from a blink dog corpse. Also satisfied the master thief and got DT. Reward for druid quest was Gardening at 70. Nice.

Farmed some herbs for a while, then went to dwarftown through the SMC. Finally got my stuff identified. Dwarven mystic provided a ring of ice and some PoGA. Did the remaining dwarf quests except for the last one (not sure how quickly I can deal with the demon and I don't want him to kill the ratling). Pyramid was as uneventful as ever. The random dungeon next to the HMV entrance had a chaotic altar. I think I converted to C right away but it might have been a little later. Then picked up the phial from the gremlin cave. Light spell helped greatly. I'm level 18 now.