Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Speedrun Strategies

Default Speedrun Strategies

I was wondering what general strategies are good for speedrunning in the latest versions. I'm new to speedrunning in ADOM (although I've done some elsewhere; Kingdom of Loathing, Phantasy Star Online Challenge Mode) but I have a few ideas.

I understand Teleporting Wizards are the traditional strategy but teleport nerfs have made them somewhat worse. I suspect teleportation is still important though.

I'm currently playing around with Gnomish Elementalist with Heir planning on doing an early ToEF, sort of a Brimstone-lite strategy. Possibly killing Crime Boss + minions for an early XP boost. I tried killing the Barbarian but it just takes way too many turns. I'd like to work out something involving an early Darkforge for SoRS but it seems insurmountable in the early game right now; at least ToEF you can capitalize on the weakness to Frost Bolt.

All ideas welcome.

My current plan involves taking advantage of the crumbling cave. It's high DL enough to do some very interesting things.