Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: 2H and dual-wielding

Default 2H and dual-wielding

So I've always used 1H+shield (unless I find an absurd 2H early game, but I eventually switched it out) but I'm wondering about the viability not using a shield, since a lot of people say how great the Minotaur Axe is. I have a pre-32 ranger right now and with a spear/shield I have 85 DV, but if I switch to Executor/dagger of death, my DV drops to about 35 (PV is ~50). Are other people going around fighting with DVs lower than their PVs? Seems like you're just asking to die if you're running around in the higher-level areas. Or maybe it's OK and I just don't know because I've never tried it?

Dual wielding I have no experience with, but two handers are very viable. One of my barbs won the game using death blade almost exclusively and death blade is not a great weapon. Fire power is more than enough to compensate for the lack of DV, because you kill enemies faster the risk of getting hit is reduced. You do need to be more careful to avoid being surrounded and guard against ranged attacks though.

35/50 is good enough if your offence is adequate, but mixing anything with executor is a bad idea. Executor is best one-handed weapon in this game (except justifier for pals), and any off hand weapon will reduce its effectiveness.

As long as you have paralyzation resistance, you can even run around with 20/40 dv/pv in the late-end game, it's perfectly feasible.
    At that point you have to health pool to soak in an occasional crit and other effects are diminished through resistances so really the only thing you should worry about is paralysis.
    Death ray resistance has a guaranteed source and petrification attacks are quite rare, though deadly with low dv and no resistance.
    "Hell is empty and all the devils are here."