Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Tips for Transitioning from Early to Mid Game

Question Tips for Transitioning from Early to Mid Game

Hey all,

I'm still fairly new to ADOM but have been putting in a lot of time over the past few weeks to a month. I'm slowly realizing that this game might take my entire summer to actually beat, but oh well... I'm ready to put in the time. What I'd like from some of the more experienced players is some tips on transitioning from the early game (SMC/UD, VD/DD, PC) to the mid-game (whatever that is because I don't know yet). I call that the "early game" for myself at least because it's after that point where I actually think I have a chance to have a decent life with my PC.

Currently, since I'm new I only play with a High Elven Archer that is either Candle or Raven born. If he is Candle, I typically lean towards the DD instead of VD and attempt to make use of herbs because it frustrates me when I find herbs without Herbalism and it becomes pointless to pick them up. Recently, I've also been traversing the entire UD after getting the waterproof blanket from the SMC. Is this a good idea? I often find that the loot you gain is great (I picked up a mithril shield my last playthrough) and the shortcut to HMV is nice later on (I think?).

My furthest playthrough so far has gotten me to the Arena (I only went to fight 5 or so because I was nervous about facing cats without having a means of teleportation). There raises the issue of how can I find blink dogs for teleport control? Even when I do find them and kill them they never leave their corpse for me to eat. I can't figure out how to do well in VDDL because I never have teleport control. The playthrough mentioned above I died on level 2 of the pyramid at level 13 because of poisoning and sickness.