Page 1 of 6 12345 ... LastLast

Thread: Musical tastes

Default Musical tastes

Anyone else here has a keen musical affinity?

I've been a bassist for 9 years now so even thou I started listening to Black Sabbath and Metallica nowadays I listen to a LOT of different music. From the jazzmasters to modern, well built, pop music.

So... what about you guys? Is adom like warcraft where everyone just listens progressive metal? =P. Nothing against it... I've distanced myself from metal throughout the years but I still listen to some good bands like Pain of Salvation and some other, more obscure, post modern bands like Isis or Russian Circles. Also, the best band in the world IMO is Tool... so I can't really say I "distanced" myself from heavy music in general.

A very...very...very reduced list of recommended bands follows:

Antimatter (Leaving Eden and Planetary Confinement are the good albums - mood rock)
    Anekdoten (prog rock)
    A Perfect Circle (heavy rock)
    Charles Mingus (best jazz IMO)
    The gutter Twins (rock)
    Institute (1 album band... with Gavin Rossdale from bush in the vocals)
    Russian Circles (Instrumental post rock)
    Portishead (trip hop)
    Tool (best band in the world IMO)

I'm sure that some (or all) of those artists you know already. But If I were to recommend something from my playlist to anyone (that isn't a well known classic) those would be some of the higher ranked.

Let's exchange bands =P
    Last edited by pblack; 08-11-2009 at 10:53 PM.

I`m very conservative so I prefer music from my youth. Yeah it was a nice time of being different than others... that means that I like the usual set of musics which includes Metallica, Linkin Park, Deep Purple, Led Zeppelin, Scorpions, Sting, and some russian rock and punk-rock bands which you never heard about.

Quote Originally Posted by boris_pankov@inbox.ru View Post