Thread: Royal Guardians should try saving the world themselves...

Default Royal Guardians should try saving the world themselves...

This is my first time playing ADOM in like 10 years. I had a handful of ultras back in the day, so I decided to try my hand, since the game has changed so much.

I had Lejes, a really good level 30ish Gnome Necromancer going. He got really lucky and was precrowned with Chain mail of the martyred crusader. In the Unremarkable Dungeon, he found Bracers of War! Looting the Underwater Cave after a fierce battle with the dragon (a few prayers were necessary) scored a ring of djinni summoning. I gave the subsequent amulet to Kelly, and was well on my way to an ultra ending. Sacced a bunch of flak artifacts to the ratling, started Gaab Baay's quests.... and then got crowned as a champion of balance...getting Vanquisher as a crowning gift!

Armed with lots of castings of Acid Ball and Vanquisher, I quickly dispatched both Keriax and the Ancient Chaos Wyrm. Equipped the Orb of Fire, grabbed some beeswax, and started my big dive. Around D:20ish, I heard the footsteps of the royal guard. Huh, I don't remember what those are. Looked it up real quick. Oh, it's just a room full of gold. Cool! I found it with magic map and teleport and picked up gold, triggering the royal guardian. Swung at him once with Vanquisher, took him down to mostly dead in one blow.

He attacked me, hitting about 12 times, some of which were crits. I was left with 1 HP. Holy crap. I teleported away... only to die of 1 hp of bleeding the next turn.

Holy crap. I guess I'll make a mental note to take those guys much more seriously. I'd have been much more careful picking a fight with those things had I known they were that ridiculous. Now that I'm looking them up, they are generated at twice the level of the PC. So I basically tried to pick a fight with a skeleton warrior I created at the small cave. Welp, lesson learned.