Thread: So I'm somewhat new to ADOM

Question So I'm somewhat new to ADOM

Okay so the title is quite misleading. Got the game last year but recently got into a really nice groove over past few months. I played casting classes from the beginning despite being told they weren't for beginners. Died a ton and had good laughs. So far I haven't had a single official win, I had a gate closing Mist Elven Necro at L+, but it was somewhat savescummed because I died to ACW twice since I got really attached to Mycthyus and his frail nature. But now I've been trying to get a proper win with a new Female ME Necro Kara, and this time going the chaotic route. My last attempt was going alright, I got precrowned with Arak's Guard, got healing without killing Jharod because I didn't want my learning below 20 and was just about to cross the AForest when a lightning vortex behind a door exploded when I opened it. Saddening to watch, so I thought I'd seek some advice to avoid any sudden deaths like these. I love to play ME necros and want to get my first proper win with one of these
    Choose direction to cast "Death Ray"
    Speedy, the quickling ghul shrugs off the death ray
    Speedy, the quickling ghul howls in anger

If you don't mind chaotic alignment, you can eat undead corpses (wights, wraiths, vampires, spectres) to increase toughness and its potential.
    With high enough toughness you should have enough HP to survive sudden deaths, such as vortices and the like.
    Necros have food preservation so this somewhat increases the corpse generation rate.
    If you can, try to max out toughness with herbs first, necros get herbalism by default and herbs are guaranteed.
    With gardening you could even start a farm because it's easy to level it up and then you have limitless source of healing. Again, useful in tough spots.
    "Hell is empty and all the devils are here."